Pamukkale Travestines

IMG_5365

The day I visited Pamukkale, it rained.  I had literally checked into my pansiyon, repacked my day bag, slapped on some sun screen, and had my hand on the doorknob, when thunderstorms broke out.  So I sat down with my knitting and waited until the storm passed.  It meant missing out on swimming in Pamukkale’s hot springs, but instead I was treated to a stunning sunset walk along the travertines.  And wouldn’t you know it, walking the rocky, bumpy calcium carbonate deposits provided something of a foot massage, a sort of unexpected consolation prize to missing a soak in the Sacred Pool.

IMG_5734

This was a finicky pair of socks to knit with a number of tricky bits right at the beginning, and it took me awhile to get the hang of the spirals (as evidenced by the bumpy, uneven tension along my first heel). However, between the two yarns and the pattern, I think it might be my favorite pair of handknit socks to date.

IMG_5732

Fiber # 65 // Pamukkale Travertines
Pattern: Double Heelix
Yarn: scrap Koigu, AF Wolle in unknown colorway (from Turkey)
Needle size: 1
Size: I’m a size M, but my gauge ran large, so I knit up the small and it worked out perfectly

Leave a Reply

